Tuesday, Jan 24th

Last update06:23




Menu Style

You are here: Community Features Roszczyk and McMahon receive United Way of Lake County’s highest awards

Roszczyk and McMahon receive United Way of Lake County’s highest awards

MENTOR - United Way of Lake County recognized two individuals who have gone above and beyond with volunteering their services to the organization as well as the local community.

During United Way of Lake County’s Annual Meeting, Steve Roszczyk received the 2nd Annual Matt Logies Ambassador Award and Rita McMahon received the 13th annual Gus Gehring Award.
Roszczyk has been a United Way of Lake County volunteer since co-chairing the 2005 campaign when the original chair of that campaign had to back out following a job transfer. After he successfully led that year’s campaign, Roszczyk joined the United Way of Lake County Board of Trustees where he was recognized for his leadership.
Roszczyk has served as the board’s first and second vice chair and for the past 18 months, served as the board chair.
“Today’s campaign progress is due, in no small way, to Steve’s contributions,” said United Way of Lake County’s President Deborah Foley. “The contributions of Steve cannot be overstated. He truly became the lighthouse steering the organization to new heights and success during a most difficult time.”
The Matt Logies Ambassador Award was named after United Way of Lake County’s former Board chair who passed away unexpectedly in his sleep in 2010.
The Gus Gehring Award is presented each year to one of Lake County’s outstanding community leaders in recognition of their continued service to United Way of Lake County.
McMahon is known in the community as being the city manager of Painesville but her contributions to United Way of Lake County have been immeasurable. She has been a member of the Board of Directors for the past 10 years and was the first chair of one of the Solutions Panels. Solutions Panels are charged with prioritizing funding needs and setting objectives and funding initiatives to proactively meet the community’s needs.
She has also impacted many facets of the community by working with programs such as “Help Me Grow,” “Lake Academy,” “The Decca Program from Starting Point,” “OSU Parenting Project,” “Captains Reading Program” and A.C.H.I.E.V.E. All of these programs involve betting the community.
“She is bright, articulate and a leader among leaders,” said last year’s Gus Gehring Award winner and current board member, Dr. Steve Baum.
Also during the annual meeting the organization announced its re-elected and new board members, including officers, Board Chair - Greg Lieb, The Lubrizol Corporation; First Vice-Chair, Richard Cicero, Lake Health; Second Vice-Chair, Dr. Jacqueline Hoynes, Mentor Public Schools and Treasurer, Janis Thiedemann, De Nora Tech.
Elected for a first 3-year term are Tom Benda, The Lubrizol Corporation; Angi Bensinger, Eaton; Dan Dunlap, Lake County Sheriff; Elizabeth Harwood, STERIS; Tom Selleny, Avery Dennison; Tom Roseum, Tasco; Paul Vanek and Michael Victor, Lake Erie College.
Elected for a second 3-year term are Janis Thiedemann, De Nora Tech; Todd Alishusky, Sheet Metal Workers #33; Mike Hanlon, Painesville Schools and Bill Weaver, Lake County Juvenile Court, retired.
Elected for one-year terms are Steve Baum, Lake Health; Phil Cassella, Perry Village Council; Bill Horvath, Community Volunteerl; Jeff Jemison, St. John Baptist Church; Steve Roszczyk, retired; and Gabe Rhoads, The Lubrizol Corporation.

Powered by Share Prices and Foreign Exchange